Image default
AustraliaChennai Super Kings (CSK)CricketCricket ArticlesDelhi Capitals (DC)Gujarat Titans (GT)IndiaIPL 2023IPL 2024IPL TeamsKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)Mumbai Indians (MI)Rajasthan Royals (RR)Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

These are the captains who have won trophies in IPL history, know where is your favorite captain

The next season of the world’s biggest cricket league, i.e. IPL, is expected to start from March 22, for which all the IPL teams have started preparations. And the fans are also very excited. However, no official announcement has been made yet regarding the start of IPL 2024.

If sources are to be believed, It is scheduled to take place from 22nd March. Which means there is very little time left in it now. In such a situation, the curiosity of the fans is bound to increase.

All the fans are very curious to know about the captain who will win IPL 2024. However, this will be known only after the end of upcoming IPL season. But we can definitely tell you about all the captains who have won the trophy in IPL history, so without wasting much time let us know which captains have won the trophy in the IPL history till now.

Only seven captains have won IPL trophy

These are the captains who have won trophies in IPL history

Let us tell you that the Indian Premier League (IPL) was started in the year 2008 and a total of 16 seasons have been played till the year 2023. The year 2024 is going to be its 17th season, but in the 16 seasons played during this period, only seven captains have won the trophy. The name of big captains like MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma is included in the list.

Also Read This: List of players who have scored the most runs in IPL history, know at which number your favorite batsman is

Rohit Sharma – 5 Trophies (Mumbai Indians)

The current captain of the Indian cricket team, Rohit Sharma is counted among the most successful captains in the history of IPL, who holds the record of winning the maximum number of 5 IPL trophies in his name. Hitman was handed over the captaincy in the middle of the IPL 2013 season and he created history by winning the trophy in his very first season as captain. After that he never looked back and won a total of five trophies one after the other till IPL 2023. He won the trophy in 2013, 15, 17, 19 and 20.

He is the only captain who has won five IPL trophies in a captaincy span of just 10 years. However, now his franchise Mumbai Indians has removed him from the captaincy and replaced him with Hardik Pandya as the new captain. Even many cricket experts consider him a greater captain than MS Dhoni because under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians have never lost to CSK in the final.

MS Dhoni – 5 Trophies (Chennai Super Kings)

The name of the current captain of Chennai Super Kings, MS Dhoni, is second in this list, who has won a total of five IPL trophies, although it took 16 seasons for Dhoni to win five IPL trophies, whereas Rohit has achieved this feat in just 10 seasons. Dhoni has commanded Chennai since the 2008 season and under his captaincy, CSK won its first IPL trophy in 2010, since then it has won a total of five trophies. He won his last IPL trophy in the 2023 season. Under the captaincy of Captain Cool MS Dhoni, Chennai has won the trophy in 2010, 11, 18, 21, and 23 seasons. If reports are to be believed, IPL 2024 season could be his last IPL season.

Gautam Gambhir – 2 Trophies (Kolkata Knight Riders)

The name of former Indian cricket team opener Gautam Gambhir is also included among the most successful captains in IPL history. Under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, Kolkata Knight Riders won the trophy in the year 2012 and 14 seasons. Gambhir took charge of Kolkata Knight Riders during the 2011 IPL season and served this responsibility till the 2017 season, but after that he got himself released by asking, after which he became a part of Delhi in the 2018 season and captained there. IPL 2018 was Gambhir’s last IPL season and after that he resigned from the captaincy and stopped playing IPL, after which Shreyas Iyer was made the captain of Delhi Capitals which was earlier Delhi Daredevils.

Shane Warne – 1 Trophy (Rajasthan Royals)

The name of former Australian cricket team legend Shane Warne is counted among the most successful captains in IPL history and should also be called the most successful captain in IPL history because he made Rajasthan Royals win the first season (2008) of IPL under his captaincy. Which is the first and last IPL trophy of RR. Shane Warne captained Rajasthan Royals from 2008 to 2011, during which he could win only one trophy and after that he did not play a single IPL season.

Also Read This: This team will win the IPL 2024 trophy, know the reason

Adam Gilchrist – 1 Trophy (Deccan Chargers)

Former Australian cricket team’s legendary wicketkeeper batsman Adam Gilchrist is also named in the list of most successful captains in IPL history, who won the IPL trophy while captaining Deccan Chargers in the IPL 2009 season. Gilchrist led two teams from 2008 to 2013 IPL season. First of all, he led Deccan Chargers as captain and won the trophy, after which he became the captain of Kings XI Punjab which is now Punjab Kings. He played his last IPL match during the 2013 IPL season, after which he has not been a part of any IPL season.

David Warner – 1 Trophy (Sunrisers Hyderabad)

David Warner, one of the great opening batsmen of the Australian cricket team, is also included in the list of all the IPL captains who have won the IPL trophy. Warner also registered his name in the pages of history by winning the trophy for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2016 IPL season. Warner took command of Hyderabad in the 2015 IPL season and in the very next season i.e. 2016, he won the trophy and is currently captaining Delhi Capitals, where the performance of DC under his captaincy last season was not anything special.

Hardik Pandya – 1 Trophy (Gujarat Titans)

Hardik Pandya, one of the legendary all-rounders of the Indian cricket team, is also included in the list of captains who have won the IPL. Kung Fu Pandya took charge of Gujarat Titans, who were making their debut in the 2022 IPL season, and created history by winning the trophy in the very first season. Under the captaincy of Pandya, Gujarat also reached the finals in the IPL 2023 season, but there it had to face defeat at the hands of MS Dhoni’s stalwarts. And he is going to be seen captaining Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2024 season, so it remains to be seen how his journey as a captain will be this season.

Also Read This: It is difficult for these three players to play IPL 2024, The board took a surprising decision

Related posts

Today T20 world cup match prediction | England vs Namibia | Toss and Match Analysis | Pitch & Weather Report

BL Choudhary

Points table changed, New Zealand beat
England’s Bazball. India | Australia


Best World Cup Prediction app | Afganistan vs Netherlands | Fantasy Dream Team Prediction | Toss and Match Analysis | Pitch & Weather Report

BL Choudhary

1 comment

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium Pitch Report April 27, 2024 at 4:12 pm

[…] this ground serves as the home ground for the 2016 champion team Sunrisers Hyderabad. In this article, we will be discussing the pitch report of Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket […]


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More