Image default
AustraliaBBL 2023BBL 2024Big Bash League (BBL)CricketCricket ArticlesIndiaIndian Premier League (IPL)IPL 2023IPL 2024IPL Teams

IPL vs BBL: Analyzing the Differences in Style, Strategy, and Stars

IPL vs BBL: In the present time, the Big Bash League (BBL) and the Indian Premier League (IPL) are the two most popular and attractive T20 cricket leagues in the world. Both leagues enjoy sky-high popularity. On one hand, where the Big Bash League is organized in Australia by the Australian board, on the other hand, the Indian Premier League is organized in India by the BCCI.

While the popularity of both leagues is quite high, there is a world of difference between them. So, let’s delve into the differences between the Big Bash League (BBL) and the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Difference between IPL and BBL

IPL vs BBL: Analyzing the Differences in Style, Strategy, and Stars

Start of both Tournaments

The Big Bash League is an Australian Twenty20 cricket league established by Cricket Australia in 2011. The Big Bash League replaced the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, which was already running in Australia. In other words, the Big Bash League started in the year 2011, and the 2023-24 BBL season was the 13th season. The final of this season was recently played on January 24, where Brisbane Heat emerged victorious.

On the other hand, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is an Indian Twenty20 cricket league, which was initiated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in the year 2008. The upcoming IPL season in 2024 will be its 17th season. In the previous season of the IPL, the Chennai Super Kings emerged as the champions.

Also Read This: IPL 2024 Team Analysis: Strengths, Weaknesses, and Key Players

Tournament Duration and time of both League

While the IPL and the Big Bash League are indeed the two richest and premier T20 cricket leagues in the world, there is a significant difference in their duration and schedule. On one hand, the BBL concludes in approximately eight weeks, whereas the IPL spans a period of around 2 to 2.5 months. Additionally, there is a notable difference in the number of matches played in both leagues. The BBL featured a total of 44 matches in the last season, including semifinals and the final. In contrast, the IPL in 2023 witnessed a total of 74 matches.

The Big Bash League, held in Australia, takes place between approximately December and January. On the other hand, the Indian Premier League, held in India, is played between March and May.

Number of team in both League

The first season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), had a total of 8 teams. Between subsequent seasons, the number of teams varied, with some seasons featuring 9 or 10 teams. However, starting from the 2022 season, IPL consistently has 10 teams participating. On the other hand, the Big Bash League (BBL) organized by Cricket Australia has maintained a consistent number of eight teams since its inception.

All IPL Team (Current) – Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Titans, Kolkata Knight Riders, Lucknow Super Giants, Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, Rajasthan Royals and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

All BBL Team – Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Also Read This: IPL 2024 All teams playing 11 and full squad

Players recruitment in IPL and BBL

One of the significant differences between the IPL and BBL is in player recruitment. On one hand, in the BBL, there is a salary cap, meaning that all teams have a limited amount of money to spend on players, ensuring a fair distribution of talent among teams. On the other hand, in the IPL, there is no such rule, allowing franchises to spend as much money as they want on players. An example of this was recently witnessed during the IPL 2024 auction, where the Kolkata Knight Riders made history by placing the highest bid to acquire Mitchell Starc (24.75 crore INR).

Furthermore, there is a significant difference between both leagues. On one hand, all Australian players are eligible to play in the IPL. But on the other hand, no Indian player is allowed to participate in the Big Bash League by BCCI.

Level of entertainment in both Leagues

Like everything else, there is quite a difference in terms of entertainment between both leagues. There is no denying that both leagues are the best in the world and feature some of the top players globally. However, when it comes to entertainment, the IPL tends to take the lead. The primary reason for this is the timing of both leagues. The BBL is held between December and January, a period when most countries are actively playing international cricket. As a result, many people miss out on the BBL.

On the other hand, when the IPL is organized, most major teams do not participate in any international matches, and there are no other tournaments being played elsewhere. This contributes to the growing popularity of the IPL day by day.

Top stars from both Leagues

Chris Lynn, Aaron Finch, D’Arcy Short, Glenn Maxwell, and Shaun Marsh are the top batting stars of the Big Bash League. Meanwhile, in the Indian Premier League, the list of top batting stars includes players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, and Suresh Raina. Additionally, when it comes to bowling in the Big Bash League, outstanding bowlers like Sean Abbott, Andrew Tye, and Jason Behrendorff are at the top. On the other hand, the best bowlers in the IPL include stalwarts like Yuzvendra Chahal, Dwayne Bravo, and Amit Mishra.

Also Read This: List of players who have scored the most runs in IPL history, know at which number your favorite batsman is

Also Read This: Inside the IPL 2024 Auction: Biggest Buys, Surprises, and Strategies

Related posts

IPL 2024 14th Match : MI vs RR Today Match Prediction – who will win today ipl match and Toss | Toss and Match Prediction | Pitch Report & weather Report | Match Info

BL Choudhary

Surya Kumar Yadav will get the captaincy of Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023


Top 5 youngest overseas debutants in IPL ft. Kwena Maphaka & Sandeep Lamichhane

Aditi Srinivas

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More