Image default
Women Premier League (WPL)CricketCricket ArticlesCricket NewsIndiaRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)Women CricketWPL 2024

WPL 2024 Final DC vs RCB: RCB women’s team created history, won the title for the first time

DC vs RCB, WPL 2024 Final: In the captaincy of Smriti Mandhana, Royal Challengers Bangalore have clinched the trophy of WPL 2024 by defeating Delhi Capitals by 8 wickets in the final match. With this victory, the women’s team of RCB has made history.

Actually, Royal Challengers Bangalore had never won a single trophy until now. But finally, under the leadership of Smriti Mandhana, Bangalore has won its first trophy in 16 years. RCB has not won a trophy even once in the past 16 seasons of the IPL, and the situation was quite bad for RCB in the first WPL season, WPL 2023, as well. But now everything has changed and RCB women’s team has registered a historic win. So, without wasting much time, let’s look at all aspects of RCB’s historic win.

WPL 2024 Final DC vs RCB Highlights


In the WPL Final, Royal Challengers Bangalore won the contest by eight wickets with three balls remaining. With this victory, RCB has also secured their first trophy. The hero of RCB’s win was Sophie Molineux, who took three wickets while conceding 20 runs in her four overs of bowling.

Meanwhile, the Player of the Tournament for WPL Season 2 Deepti Sharma, whose performance throughout the tournament was outstanding, showcased her skills. In this match, DC won the toss and decided to bat first, a decision that proved quite wrong for them.

Also Read This: Who is the most dangerous cricket player in the world?

Delhi Capital won the toss and decided to bat first

In the match between Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals’ captain Meg Lanning won the toss and decided to bat first, a decision that proved quite wrong for them.

Despite their all efforts while batting first, Delhi’s team managed to score only 113 runs before getting all out. During this period, Delhi couldn’t even play their full quota of 20 overs and got all out in just 18.3 overs.

From Delhi’s side, captain Meg Lanning and her partner Shafali Verma had a good start, sharing an opening partnership of 64 runs between them. However, in the eighth over, Shafali Verma got out while attempting a big shot, and in the next three balls after her dismissal, Delhi lost the wickets of Jemimah Rodrigues and Alice Capsey as well. Sophie Molineux was responsible for getting all three of these players out.

After that, Delhi’s team collapsed like a house of cards and got all out for just 113 runs. From Delhi’s side, Shafali (44) and Lanning (23) scored the most runs. Meanwhile, Shreyanka Patil took 4 wickets by conceding 12 runs, emerging as the top wicket-taker for RCB. Due to Delhi Capitals’ poor batting, the run chase became quite easy for RCB, and they completed it with great ease.

RCB’s run chase

While chasing the target of 114 runs, Royal Challengers Bangalore didn’t rush at all, and captain Smriti Mandhana had a thoughtful start with Sophie Divine.

They shared a partnership of 49 runs between them, during which Sophie Divine lost her wicket in the 9th over at a score of 32. Despite this, Smriti Mandhana held one end and came to bat at number three, bringing the team closer to the target with Ellyse Perry.

However, she also lost her wicket at a personal score of 31 in the 15th over. Then Ellyse Perry scored 35 runs and Richa Ghosh scored 17 runs to lead the team to victory.

RCB won the contest by eight wickets with three balls remaining. During this period, Shikha Pandey from Delhi took one wicket by conceding 11 runs in four overs. Meanwhile, Minnu Mani also took one wicket by conceding 12 runs in her two overs of bowling.

With this victory, RCB has put an end to a 16-year trophy drought. Whereas, for Delhi Capitals, this drought still persists. It might surprise you to know that despite reaching the WPL final back-to-back twice, Delhi Capitals have still been unable to lift the trophy.

Also Read This: IPL 2024 Update: Rajasthan Royals Squad Changes – Prasidh Krishna Injured, Suryakumar Yadav Absent, Rishabh Pant Returns

FAQ’s Related to WPL 2024 Final

Who won the Wpl 2024 final?

Royal Challengers Bangalore has won the final of WPL 2024 by defeating Delhi Capitals by eight wickets.

Where was the final of WPL 2024 played?

The final of WPL 2024 was played at the Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium in Delhi. This match was played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals.

Which teams have won the WPL 2024 title so far?

It is known that till now a total of 2 seasons of WPL have been played in which the first season was won by Mumbai Indians and the second season is won by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Who was the player of the tournament of WPL 2024?

In the WPL 2024 season, Deepti Sharma of UP Warriors delivered an exceptionally outstanding performance, which earned her the Player of the Tournament award. This season, Deepti Sharma scored 295 runs and also showed the way to the pavilion for 10 players.

How many trophies has RCB won so far?

Let it be known that RCB has only won one trophy so far. RCB has not won a single trophy in the 16 seasons of the IPL played so far. RCB has been fortunate to win their first trophy in WPL 2024.

Also Read This: India vs Pakistan 2024 T20 World Cup : Nassau County Stadium Awaits Historic Clash | IND vs PAK

Related posts

Today world Cup Semi-Final Match prediction | Australia vs South Africa | Toss and Match Analysis | Pitch & Weather Report

BL Choudhary

IPL 2024 All teams playing 11 and full squad

Anil Kumar

3 Most expensive overseas players in IPL auction history ft. Mitchell Starc

Viransh Shah

1 comment

Sifat Sifat March 30, 2024 at 5:40 am



Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More