Image default
CricketIndian Premier League (IPL)IPL 2024

Who was the first player to play 100 IPL matches for each team in the IPL?

Who was the first player to play 100 IPL matches for each team in the IPL?: The first edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) was played way back in 2008. A total of eight teams competed for the title. A total of 56 league matches were played, followed by the two semi-finals and the final. The Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition by beating the Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Who was the first player to play 100 IPL matches for each team in the IPL?

The ongoing 2024 edition is the 17th one and we have seen the competition level reach a new height. The T20 superstars across the world look forward to playing in this exciting franchise league. We have seen thrilling encounters so far and we can expect the same going forward.

The Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians are the most successful sides, having won the title five times each. Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer whereas Yuzvendra Chahal is the leading wicket-taker in the competition’s history.

Many of the players have been representing a single franchise till date. Let’s have a look at who were the players to play 100 IPL matches for each team.

List of the play 100 IPL matches for each team in the IPL

Chennai Super Kings – Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina has been a true legend of the Indian Premier League (IPL). He was picked up by the Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural edition and was an integral part of the team for many years. He retired in 2021 after playing 205 matches for CSK. He amassed 5528 runs at an average of 32.52.

Often known as ‘Chinna Thala’ in Tamil Nadu, Raina was the first player to play 100 IPL matches for CSK. He was a livewire in the field and finished as the legend of the IPL.

Mumbai Indians – Harbhajan Singh

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the IPL’s history, having won five titles so far. Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh was one of the senior member of MI in the first ten years and played a key role in lifting titles.

The off-spinner was the first player from the Mumbai Indians to play 100 IPL matches. He finished his IPL career with 163 matches and picked up 150 wickets at 26.87. He bowled at an economy rate of 7.08 throughout the tournament.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru – Virat Kohli

The Royal Challengers Bengaluru is one of the biggest franchise in the world. The fan base of this team is immense and these are the most loyal fans. RCB have been part of IPL since its first edition but they are yet to win a single title. Despite having superstars of the game, they are yet to lift the silverware.

Modern-day great from India Virat Kohli became the first player representing RCB to play 100 IPL matches. He is the leading run-scorer in the competition’s history and has a stellar record for the franchise. He continues to play a crucial role for RCB.

Also Read: Top 6 highest scores after 10 overs in IPL | Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kolkata Knight Riders – Gautam Gambhir

The Kolkata Knight Riders are the second successful side in the IPL’s history after CSK and MI. The Knight Riders have won the trophy two times in 16 years. They lifted their first title back in 2012 and followed it by winning in 2014.

Gautam Gambhir is a true legend of the Kolkata-based franchise. He was the skipper of the side and helped his side win two titles. Gambhir was the first KKR player to register 100 appearances in IPL.

Rajasthan Royals – Ajinkya Rahane

The Rajasthan Royals lifted the title in the inaugural edition of IPL under the leadership of Shane Warne. Since then, the Royals have failed to win the tournament. They managed to reach the final in 2022 but lost to the Gujarat Titans.

The Royals picked up Ajinkya Rahane in 2012 and he was fantastic for them. He even led the side and was the first player from the franchise to play 100 matches in IPL. Till date, he has played 174 matches in the IPL’s history and has scored 4439 runs at 30.83 which includes two centuries.

Sunrisers Hyderabad – Bhuvneshwar Kumar

The Deccan Chargers won the second edition of IPL. They were replaced by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the competition and they debuted in the 2013 edition. The Sunrisers lifted the title in 2016 under the leadership of David Warner.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was brought by SRH in the auction before the 2014 edition. The right-arm pacer has been the mainstay since then and continues to lead the bowling attack. In the process, he became the first player from SRH to play 100 matches in the IPL.

Delhi Capitals – Rishabh Pant

The Delhi Capitals have really underperformed in IPL. The best result for them was in 2020 when they finished as the runners-up. Rishabh Pant, the swashbuckling wicketkeeper-batter, was picked up by the Capitals in 2016 and was the named the captain in 2021.

Pant appeared in his 100th IPL match in the ongoing 2024 season and became the first player from the Delhi Capitals to reach the landmark. He has scored 2884 runs so far at an impressive average of 34.33 and a strike rate of 147.37.

Also Read: Most sixes hit in an IPL match ft. SRH vs MI

NOTE: The stats are updated as of March 29, 2024

Related posts

Cricket Showdown: IND vs WI 1st T20 Match Prediction, Toss Analysis, and Pitch Report

BL Choudhary

These 10 players have hit the most sixes in Test cricket, Know what number your favorite player is

Anil Kumar

These ‘5’ defeated Team India in Indore test


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More