Player of the Tournament Winner in ODI World Cup (1992 to 2023)
CricketICC World CupInternational Cricket

Player of the Tournament Winner in ODI World Cup (1992 to 2023)

Player of the Tournament Winner in ODI World Cup (1992 to 2023)
Yuvraj Singh deservedly won the Player of the Tournament Award in the 2011 ODI World Cup (Image credit: ICC)

Although the first edition of the ODI World Cup was held in 1975, ICC did not introduce the Player of the Tournament award until 1992. However, that year, the global cricketing body changed the status quo. ICC rewarded a player with a stellar consistent performance with the Player of the Tournament trophy. In this article, we look at the Player of the Tournament winner list from 1992 to 2023.

1992 ODI World Cup-Martin Crowe (New Zealand)

Martin Crowe was New Zealand’s skipper in the 1992 edition of the ODI World Cup. (Image credit: Twitter)

Skipper of the Kiwi team in the 1992 edition, Martin Crowe led from the front and took his side to the semi-finals. Although eliminated by eventual winners Pakistan, New Zealand’s run to the semis was built on the back of Crowe’s batting and leadership.

He accumulated 456 runs in the tournament, playing at a strike rate of 90.83. He set the tone in the first match with a 100* against Australia.

1996 ODI World Cup-Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka)

Sanath Jayasuriya exemplified aggressive batting and sent the opposition on the back foot with his attacking approach. In the 1996 World Cup, he scored 221 runs in the quadrennial extravaganza, opening the batting for the island nation.

To go with his batting exploits, Jayasuriya also picked up six wickets with his left-arm spin.

1999 ODI World Cup-Lance Klusener (South Africa)

The 1999 ODI World Cup saw Proteas’ Lance Klusener destroy bowling attacks with his swashbuckling hitting. Coming in to bat in the lower middle order, Klusener laid the finishing touches and almost single-handedly guided South Africa to the final.

In the semi-final, South Africa came agonizingly close to booking a place in the final. The match ended in a tie, and Klusener remained stranded on 31* off 16 deliveries. The tie meant a heartbreak for South Africa and elation for Australia.

Furthermore, Klusener scalped 17 wickets in the competition, proving to be an exceptional allrounder.

2003 ODI World Cup-Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Sachin Tendulkar was adjudged the Player of the Tournament for his 673 runs. (Image credit: Sportstar)

Sourav Ganguly’s 2003 ODI squad reached the finals of the World Cup. And the man who made it all possible was the Master Blaster, Sachin Tendulkar. With 673 runs in the tournament and two wickets to go with it, Sachin got his name enshrined in the history books.

Although the 2003 World Cup final against the Aussies was a nightmare for the Indian team, Sachin’s contribution to the team can never be understated.

2007 ODI World Cup-Glenn McGrath (Australia)

Glenn McGrath claimed 26 wickets in the 2007 edition of the ODI World Cup. (Image credit: ICC)

Defending champions Australia personified domination with another World Cup title in 2007 without losing a match. And leading the pace attack for the invincible Aussies was Glenn McGrath.

McGrath was renowned for his impeccable line and length, troubling batters in the corridor of uncertainty. In his journey of scalping 26 wickets in the edition, McGrath claimed four consecutive three-wicket hauls.

2011 ODI World Cup-Yuvraj Singh (India)

Southpaw Yuvraj Singh was the Player of the Tournament winner in India’s 2011 winning campaign. Battling unrevealed lung cancer, Yuvraj put on an all-round show with 362 runs and 15 wickets.

His most memorable performance came in the quarter-final against the Aussies. After claiming two wickets and restricting the Aussies to 260/6, he ensured the team got over the finishing line with his batting. His 57* off 65 balls set up the semi-final against Pakistan.

2015 ODI World Cup-Mitchell Starc (Australia)

Mitchell Starc scalped 22 wickets in the 2015 edition. (Image credit: ICC)

Mitchell Starc’s left-arm swing bowling has left top-notch batters perplexed. In his very debut World Cup, Starc depicted he is meant for greatness, capturing 22 wickets in the tournament. His inswinging yorkers took everyone by surprise and storm.

2019 ODI World Cup-Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

Kane Williamson won the Player of the Tournament award in 2019. (Image credit: Twitter)

Following the footsteps of Martin Crowe, Kane Williamson led New Zealand in the 2019 edition. While Crowe’s team fell short of the World Cup dream in the semis, Willaimson’s squad was left heartbroken by England in the most unexpected way.

New Zealand lost to England on a boundary count after tying the match and the super over. Although the Kiwis faltered on the final hurdle, Williamson’s 578 runs in the tournament and his two wickets made him the Player of the Tournament award winner.

2023 ODI World Cup-Virat Kohli (India)

The 2023 World Cup saw the Men in Blue have a dream unbeaten run to the finals. But the desire for a third World Cup title remained unfulfilled as Australia stopped the Indian juggernaut. However, the Rohit Sharma-led side delivered stellar performances, with senior pro-Virat Kohli leading the batting charts with 765 runs.

Kohli held the middle order together, mixing caution with aggression. During the tournament, he overtook Sachin Tendulkar’s record for most ODI centuries. With three centuries in the competition, Kohli secured his second position on the list of most runs in the World Cup overall,

Also read: Highest wicket-takers In World Cup history list (Top 5)

Related posts

Who’s hit 200 + Sixes in IPL List of all players ft. Andre Russell & Virat Kohli | Powerhouse of IPL

Aditi Srinivas

Today psl Match Prediction |Match Number 27|MS vs ISU| Toss and Match Analysis | Pitch & Weather Reports

BL Choudhary

After a long wait of 9 years, Sarfaraz Khan’s luck shines, got a place in the 2nd test against England

Anil Kumar

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More