Image default
CricketCricket ArticlesIndian CricketIndian Premier League (IPL)IPL 2023IPL 2024

Most runs in IPL history (Top 7 batters)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) will have its 17th edition in 2024. The previous sixteen editions have been a fest of fun and entertainment, with numerous thrillers and nail-biters. The IPL has also witnessed batters making merry, piling on runs, and adding to their records. On the same note, this article looks at the top 7 batters with the most runs in IPL overall.

With some of these players still active, they will add to their tallies. However, this article takes into account records made till the 2023 edition.

#7 MS Dhoni**

MS Dhoni has 239 sixes under his belt in the IPL. (Image source: BCCI/IPL)

In 250 matches, the former Indian skipper has accumulated 5082 runs at an average of 38.79. Dhoni’s contribution to the Chennai Super Kings’ performance can never be understated. He has led CSK to five IPL titles, the latest being in 2023.

Captain Cool has had numerous finishing knocks in his IPL career, where he has won his team the match from an improbable position. He has 24 50s in the annual extravaganza.

#6 AB de Villiers

Ab de Villiers has three centuries in the IPL, with the highest score of 133*. (Image source: BCCI/IPL)

Mr.360° Ab de Villiers is among the most adored overseas players to have graced the IPL. The South African great’s ability to manipulate the field and nail unorthodox shots to all parts of the park is not hidden from anyone.

Playing for the Delhi Daredevils and primarily the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), ABD has amassed 5162 runs in 184 matches.

#5 Suresh Raina

Suresh Raina is fondly known as Mr.IPL. (Image credit: IPL/BCCI)

Suresh Raina was the backbone of CSK’s middle order for years before he retired from all forms of cricket in 2022. The left-handed batter delivered whenever his team needed him, amassing 5528 runs in 205 games. He has one century and 39 half-centuries to his credit in the IPL history.

Raina delivered one of the most memorable knocks in a losing cause in the 2014 edition. With CSK chasing Kings XI Punjab’s (now Punjab Kings) target of 227, Raina plundered 87 off 25 balls, with 12 fours and six sixes. However, KXIP ran him out, and CSK fell short of 24 runs in the qualifier.

#4 Rohit Sharma**

Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai Indians to five IPL titles. (Image credit: BCCI/IPL)

Rohit Sharma makes batting look simple, with his pull and hook shots being a soothing sight for sore eyes. Rohit played three seasons with the now-defunct Deccan Chargers and then made a move to the Mumbai Indians. And the rest is history.

Coming to his batting exploits, the swashbuckling opener has scored 6211 runs in 243 matches. He has one century and forty-two 50s to his credit, with a best score of 109*.

#3 David Warner (overseas player with the most runs in IPL)**

David Warner has four centuries in his IPL career, with a highest score of 126. (Image source: Delhi Capitals Twitter)

David Warner has featured for the Delhi side (Daredevils and Capitals) and the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL. The Aussie opener has also captained SRH to their maiden IPL title in 2016.

On the batting front, Warner has 6397 runs to his name in 176 matches. He has also won the most Orange caps–three (2015, 2017, 2019).

Shikhar Dhawan** sits second on this list of most runs in IPL

Shikhar Dhawan has been a batting mainstay for IPL teams, whether Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings, or the Delhi Capitals. He sits second with 6617 runs in 217 games with a best score of 106*.

Dhawan also currently holds the record for the most fours (750) in the IPL.

Most runs in IPL: Virat Kohli**

Virat Kohli scored his fourth 100 in a single season in 2016 with a ‘split webbing’ (Image source: BCCI)

For Virat Kohli, smashing new records has been a walk in the park, and no wonder the run machine tops this chart of the batters with the most runs in IPL. With 7263 runs in 237 matches, at an average of 37.25, Virat has been the heart and soul of the RCB batting lineup.

He has seven IPL centuries, with four coming in the year 2016. Having aced on the batting front, Virat would like to break the jinx and win a maiden title for Royal Challengers Bangalore before hanging his boots.

** Players who are still active in the IPL

Also read: Transfers in IPL history: 5 Most expensive trade deals

Related posts

Pak Cricketer joined 4-4 teams before IPL-16


BANGLADESH vs SRILANKA 2nd ODI Asia Cup Today Match Prediction | Dream 11 Team Prediction | Toss Analysis | Pitch & Weather Report

BL Choudhary

God of T20 Cricket in India

Anil Kumar

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More