Image default
CricketCricket ArticlesSrilankaZimbabwe

List of all countries who were suspended by ICC

List of all countries who were suspended by ICC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is hailed as the supreme governing body of cricket. The ICC is responsible for conducting major multi-event tournaments such as 50-over World Cups, 20-over World Cups, and the ICC World Test Championships to name a few. 

The International Cricket Council has a total of 108 member nations, including 12 full-members, who are allowed to play Test Cricket. All the members need to follow the rules and regulations set by the International Cricket Council. ICC holds the right to suspend or ban the members in case of breach of any obligation. 

Over the years, the Cricket’s supreme governing body has suspended various members due to different reasons. In this article, we have compiled a list of all the countries that were suspended by International Cricket Council. Here’s a look at that: 

Sri Lanka 

Sri Lanka is the latest nation that was suspended by ICC in November, 2023 following Sri Lankan governement’s interference in the cricketing matters. Under the rules set by the ICC, the cricket boards need to manage all its affairs autonomously and there shouldn’t be any government interference. 

According to the statement released by the ICC, the Sri Lanka Cricket was involved in a serious breach of its obligations as a member and thus had to be suspended. 


For the unversed, Zimbabwe was the first full-member nation to be suspended by the International Cricket Council in the year 2019. Continuous interference from governing in the cricket administration led to ICC suspend Zimbabwe and stopped them from playing any tournament that is conducted by the International Cricket Council. 

Although, the ban was lifted just after three months as ICC resolved the matter with officials from Zimbabwe government. 


Cuba became the affiliate member nation of the International Cricket Council in 2002. They also represented in the qualifying tournaments of the Americas region. However, they had to face suspension from ICC in 2013 after failing to adhere to the board’s guidelines. 


Asian Country, Brunei is one of the oldest affiliate members of the ICC. The governing body of cricket roped them in in 1992 and continued to be a member for 23 years. However, in the year 2013, the Asian nation failed to oblige on seven laws of the ICC and, thus, the international cricket governing body had to suspend Brunei in 2014. 


Royal Moroccan Cricket Federation became the affiliate member of the ICC in the year 1999. Morocco made headlines when the country decided to host the Morocco Cup, which featured three teams such as Sri Lanka, South Africa and Pakistan. Sri Lanka went on to win the tournament after beating South Africa in the final.

In the year 2014, they failed to oblige on four laws set by the ICC and, five years later, the International Cricket Body decided to suspend their membership. 


Zambia became an associate member of the International Cricket Council in 2003. However, their membership was suspended by the ICC due to continued non-compliance with ICC membership criteria in 2014. Two years later, the International Cricket governing body also terminated their membership. 


Following the 78th Annual General Meeting in 2021, the International Cricket Council sent a notice to Russia highlighting their non-compliance with ICC membership criteria. However, after Russia failed to resolve the matter, the ICC decided to terminate the membership on 26th July 2022. 


Tonga became an affiliate member of ICC in the year 2000. Tonga remained a member for 13 years and also participated in various cricket events. However, after failing to secure a full-paid administrator, ICC suspended Tonga in 2013 but revoked membership an year later. 

Related posts

Ind vs Eng: India took revenge for the defeat in the first match, defeated England by 106 runs

Anil Kumar

Brendon Mc Cullum made a big statement ahead of the Vizag Test : 

Suhana Sumera

Today BBL Match Prediction | Adelaide Strikers vs Sydney Thunder match number 8| Toss and Match Analysis | Pitch & Weather Reports | Probable 11

BL Choudhary

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More