IPL winner list from 2008 to 2023: All teams to win the coveted trophy in past 16 years
Cricket ArticlesIndian Premier League (IPL)IPL 2023IPL 2024

IPL winner list from 2008 to 2023

IPL All teams to win the coveted trophy in past 16 years

The Indian Premier League, which commenced in the year 2008, will be entering its 17th edition in 2024, with 10 teams participating in the cash-rich event. Some of the finest cricketers participate in the tournament, and it is a platform for the up-and-coming players to prove their worth and strengthen their case of a dreamful international career.

IPL winner list from 2008 to 2023: All teams to win the coveted trophy in past 16 years

Over the years, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have emerged as the two most successful sides in the tournament, having won the coveted trophy five times each. The MS Dhoni-led CSK will enter the 2024 edition of the tournament as the defending champions. They defeated the Gujarat Titans in a dramatic IPL 2023 final to lift the cup for the fifth time.

Though these two sides have dominated the majority of the seasons, Rajasthan Royals won the very first edition of the IPL in 2008 after defeating CSK by three wickets. Adam Gilchrist’s Deccan Chargers then lifted the title in the second edition in 2009, winning the game by six runs against the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

CSK clinched the 2010 and 2011 editions of the tournament, becoming the first-ever side to win two titles for consecutive years. CSK made it to the finals again in the 2012 edition, but Kolkata Knight Riders snatched the trophy away from them to win their maiden title. Mumbai Indians entered the scene in 2013 as they defeated CSK to lift the cup.

KKR had another stellar season in 2014 as they became the second team after CSK to win the trophy twice. In the 2015 edition, Mumbai Indians defeated CSK in the final again to lift their second title. 2016 saw a new winner after a long break as Sunrisers Hyderabad defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore in a thrilling final.

Read this also : IPL Auction 2024: Full list of players of all 10 teams

Mumbai Indians then won the 2017 edition of the tournament, becoming the first team to lift the trophy thrice. CSK soon joined the club when the Men in Yellow returned from a two-year ban, and made a stunning comeback to lift the title. Mumbai Indians then became the second team after CSK to win the tournament consecutively as they won their fourth and fifth titles in 2019 and 2020.

The 2021 edition saw Chennai Super Kings rising in ranks, as the two-phased IPL season saw them win the championship in Dubai. The 2022 mega auction brought a huge tide as two new teams- Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants were added to the competition. The year witnessed debutants Gujarat Titans win the cup, in what was their inaugural season of the IPL, under Hardik Pandya’s captaincy.

Entering the 2023 edition as the defending champions, Gujarat managed to make it to the finals yet again as they aimed to become the third team, after CSK and MI, to defend their title. In a dramatic summit clash, which went on for three days due to the weather conditions in Ahmedabad, MS Dhoni and Co. defeated GT on the final delivery of the tournament to lift the silverware for the fifth time.

Here’s a list of IPL winners from 2008 to 2023:

YearWinnerWon ByRunner UpVenue
2023Chennai Super Kings5 wicketsGujarat TitansAhmedabad
2022Gujarat Titans7 wicketsRajasthan RoyalsAhmedabad
2021Chennai Super Kings27 runsKolkata Knight RidersDubai
2020Mumbai Indians5 wicketsDelhi CapitalsDubai
2019Mumbai Indians1 runChennai Super KingsHyderabad
2018Chennai Super Kings8 wicketsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai
2017Mumbai Indians1 runRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad8 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore
2015Mumbai Indians41 runsChennai Super KingsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 wicketsKings XI PunjabBangalore
2013Mumbai Indians23 runsChennai Super KingsKolkata
2012Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsChennai Super KingsChennai
2011Chennai Super Kings58 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai
2010Chennai Super Kings22 runsMumbai IndiansMumbai
2009Deccan Chargers6 runsRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohannesburg
2008Rajasthan Royals3 wicketsChennai Super KingsMumbai
catch live blog of :  IPL Mini Auction in Dubai with all players details Bid!

Related posts

IPL 2024 30th Match : RCB vs SRH Today Match Prediction – who will win today ipl match and Toss | Toss and Match Prediction | Pitch Report & weather Report | Match Info

BL Choudhary

NZ Board’s sacrifice for IPL-16, Captain changed again, Tom Latham command against SL


Five underrated cricketers of all time

Aditi Srinivas

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More