India’s squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024
CricketAustraliaCricket ArticlesIndiaT20 World Cup 2024

5 top records created by Indian team at the 2024 T20 World Cup

India to Face Australia on June 24 in Super 8 Clash at St. Lucia
India to Face Australia on June 24 in Super 8 Clash at St. Lucia

In what turned out to be one of the dramatic T20 World Cup finals, India beat South Africa by just 7 runs to lift their second T20 World Cup title on 29th June 2024. It was under the leadership of Rohit Sharma that India finally managed to end the ICC title drought.

There is no denying that India were the best team in the tournament. There wasn’t a single team that could beat them throughout the tournament. They played eight matches and won all of them.

Before beating South Africa in the final, India knocked Australia and England out of the tournament and asserted their dominance. The final proved to be an edge of a thriller encounter with the match going down to the wire.

Heinrich Klaasen had almost taken the game out of India’s grasp. With just 26 needed off 24 deliveries, India had little chance of winning the game. However, once again the Indian bowlers delivered when it mattered the most. The trio of Arshdeep, Bumrah, and Hardik bowled beautifully at the death and helped India win the game by seven runs, eventually.

In this article, let’s take a look at five records created by the Indian team in the 2024 T20 World Cup:

  1. First unbeaten team to win the Trophy

India now holds the record for being the first team ever to win an ICC T20 World Cup title without losing a single match. India was placed in Group B in the first round of the tournament. They played against Pakistan, the USA, and Ireland and won all three games. One match against Canada was abandoned due to rain.

India progressed to Super Eight and beat the likes of Afghanistan, Australia, and Bangladesh to book their place in the semi-finals. England met them in the semi-final clash and suffered a 68-run defeat.

India then squared up against South Africa in the final and emerged victorious by seven runs. India’s eight consecutive wins in completed games is the joint-longest winning streak for any team in the men’s T20 World Cup.

2. India becomes the first team to win a Men’s T20 World Cup final batting first on two occasions

    There have been only three occasions when teams have won the final of a T20 World Cup while defending a total.

    It was India who did it for the first time in the 2007 edition final against Pakistan. West Indies then replicated the feat against Sri Lanka in the 2012 T20 World Cup final. India did it twice after they defended a 176-run total against South Africa in the final of the T20 World Cup 2024.

    3. India becomes the third team to win the T20 World Cup title twice

      After winning the T20 World Cup 2024, India have now joined the likes of West Indies and England to win the T20 World Cup title twice. India first won the trophy in the inaugural season in 2007.

      They replicated the feat under the leadership of Rohit Sharma in the 2024 edition. West Indies have also won the title twice in 2012 and 2016, while England won in 2010 and 2022.

      4. India scored the highest total in the final of a T20 World Cup

        India put on a formidable score of 176 runs against South Africa in the 2024 T20 World Cup final. This now stands as the highest-ever score scored by any team in the final of an ICC T20 World Cup.

        Previously, Australia held the record for scoring 173 against New Zealand in the 2021 T20 World Cup final.

        5. Second-largest win margin in T20 World Cup knockouts

          India’s win against England in the semi-final final was the second-largest in terms of margin of runs in a T20 World Cup knockout encounter. They beat England by a margin of 68 runs in the semi-final clash in Guyana.

          West Indies still hold the top place, having beaten Australia by 74 runs in the semi-final clash of the 2012 T20 World Cup.

          Related posts

          The Greatest Cricket Stadiums: Where Legends are Made

          Anil Kumar

          IPL 2024 Auction: Full list of players retained and released by all 10 teams

          Aditi Srinivas

          IPL 2024 47th Match : DC vs KKR Today Match Prediction – who will win today ipl match and Toss | Toss and Match Prediction | Pitch Report & weather Report | Match Info

          BL Choudhary

          This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More